amanda k brown

26 or “Snowpocalypse 2011”

Posted on: Thursday 13.Jan.11

26. I don’t like making birthday plans for myself. I have plenty to be happy about, and grateful for. I like parties. I like

Note Michael trying to catch snowflakes.

celebrating with people I love and care about. So what’s the problem? No idea, really. I love other people’s birthdays. I enjoy making a big deal about that person, showing them they’re special and people care, treating people for dinner or a drink, buy a gift, bake a cake. So I get it–the birthday thing. I just get numb when it comes to my own. But, when the time comes, I still get all warm inside when I get to blow out my candles, and imagine what my greatest wish for the next year of my life might be. Funny thing, birthdays. This year was 26. The weekend had me dancing from the east to the west side of the state visiting family in celebratory goodness. Visited my boyfriend’s family for his parents’ anniversary. His mom’s birthday is the day before mine, so we shared a Carvel cake! I got to spend Sunday with my mom and brother. We went out to lunch, then prepared their house for the Snowpocalypse, which of course rudely interrupted my actual birthday.

Georgians' enjoyment of snow over time

Courtesy JRFranco02

I feel Mr. Franco’s graph, featured above, is a fairly accurate representation of my week. It was great the first couple of days, until I realized I couldn’t actually go out for my birthday date night. Ice. How rude. Who’d have thought? Still, it was a relaxing day, so I ought not complain. My roommate did take me and the boy out for lunch at a Brazilian steak house after some of the ice melted–a lot of fun and good company! It was nice to cut the cabin fever.

After three and a half days of Snowpocalypse, I’m ready to get back into some semblance of a routine. Work, housework, cooking, etc. I will, however, have to work on my snowball fighting tactics for the next snow storm, complete with fort and a readied arsenal of varying sized snowballs. Maybe I should add that to my 101 list?

Until next time, farewell Snowpocalypse 2011!

 

Leave a Reply

Post Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet tweet

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Amanda has read 1 books toward her goal of 20 books.
hide
